Mid-Point Reflection

As the mid-point of my Summer Edit 202 course looms upon me, I’ve been doing some reflecting on what I’ve learned thus far in the course, and the practicality of those lessons. The main thing I think I am taking away so far is that technology is not to be feared. It can really enhance not only a particular lesson, but a teacher’s efficacy and strategy for teaching. This brings me to my second point – technology and different online programs are most effective when they are not just simply added into a lesson as one’s attempt to “jazz up” the aesthetics of a boring power-point, or as an added quick type of reference. Though this can be engaging for students at first, technology is truly utilized to it’s potential in the classroom when it becomes part of the culture, part of the teaching it self. Technology needs to be used continually, and the class as a whole needs to grow with it’s integration. It is not just for the purpose of adding to a lesson plan, but needs to be included to satisfy the new student generation’s needs and interests. It needs to be used early, to enhance student learning and student ability to communicate and really become a member of the classroom, of the learning process, not just a pupil with a blank slate waiting to be taught. Anyways, just some food for thought! Here is an excellent article – click the picture below – on the uses of technology in the classroom; enjoy! 🙂

tech_in_classroom_cartoon

 

Image Credit:

Leave a comment